12 Years and lots of changes

As I look back at the 12 years of marriage (March 1st), I can’t help but think of all we’ve been through, over, under, and around 🙂  I remember the first time I met Aaron, sophmore year of highschool in biology class.  I remember he had my heart the moment he came into that classroom.  It took another year before either of us acted on our feelings and we went out.  That was 15 1/2 years ago that we met!

A little over 12 years ago we got engaged on Christmas morning and started planning an August wedding.  2 weeks later we got the shock of our lives, we were going to be teen parents!  Yikes!  Odds were stacked against us of course.  I can’t explain all the emotions we went through for the first months of shock (ok well I got over the shock with in a matter of days but I don’t think Aaron or our parents did).  We moved the wedding up and I got to experience planning a wedding while pregnant.  That was very exhausting and challenging but it turned out perfectly.  Now as I look at my almost 12 year old boy, I cannot imagine not having him in my life.  I also realize now, that the fact that we were teens when we had him, means nothing now.  We’re just parents and no one cares anymore.  I didn’t realize that stigma wouldn’t be hanging over us forever.  

Now we have 4 kids and our own home and our marriage is still strong.  We’ve experienced a lot along the way; financial struggles, deaths of loved ones (both family and friends), ER visits, surgeries, stitches, concussions, vacations, road trips, lots of moving, and lots of positive lifestyle changes. 

I know we’re lucky, I know I AM!  I am not sure sometimes how I got so lucky to have such a good man.  He cooks, cleans, is actively involved with his children EVERY day, is kind, loving, helpful, and selfless.  The Lord has been good to us.  I know I am undeserving of it and yet, The Lord continues to give more.  This is our song: http://youtube.com/watch?v=2Y4NTXT96EM 

Take some time today to be thankful for all you’ve been given, the good and the bad.  I know I forget sometimes just how blessed I am and focus too much on the things that stink.  Life isn’t meant to be perfect here on earth.  This will not last forever and someday we will see glory!  Hug your kids when they are being naughty and remember this is where memories and good stories come from!  – Remind me I said this the next time Matthew does something crazy!  LOL 

Have a great day!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

